Recently elected Tribal Council sworn in on Wednesday

August 9, 2013

Download Release

TAHLEQUAH, Okla. – Nine recently elected Cherokee Nation Tribal Council members will officially be sworn into a 4-year term of office during an inauguration ceremony at 2 p.m. Wednesday at Sequoyah School’s Place Where They Play.

The Cherokee Nation Tribal Council consists of a 17-member body approving laws vital to the tribe’s success and future. Nine of those seats were up for election June 22, with seven incumbents returning.

Harley Buzzard, of Delaware County, was elected to District 10, and had previously served on the Tribal Council from 2007-2011. Newcomer Janees Taylor, of Pryor, will serve District 15.

Tribal Council officials to be sworn in include:

District 2 – Joe Byrd

District 4 – Don Garvin

District 5 – David Thornton

District 7 – Frankie Hargis

District 9 – Curtis Snell

District 10 – Harley Buzzard

District 11 – Chuck Hoskin Jr.

District 15 – Janees Taylor

At-Large – Jack Baker