Media Alert: Cherokee Nation officials commemorate the 175th anniversary of the Trail of Tears

March 19, 2014


Commemoration of the 175th year since the Trail of Tears


Monday, March 24

10:30 a.m.


Cherokee Heritage Center
21192 S. Keeler Drive, Park Hill, Okla.


Bill John Baker, Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation

Chuck Hoskin Jr., Cherokee Nation Secretary of State

Todd Hembree, Cherokee Nation Attorney General

Jack Baker, Cherokee Nation Tribal Councilor and President of the Trail of Tears Association

Dr. Daniel Littlefield, Director of the Sequoyah National Research Center at the University of Arkansas

Candessa Tehee, Executive Director of the Cherokee Heritage Center

TAHLEQUAH, Okla. — Monday marks the 175th year since the Cherokee Nation’s journey along the Trail of Tears. The final group of Cherokees arrived March 24, 1839, in Indian Territory, near present-day Tahlequah.

To commemorate the anniversary, Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Bill John Baker and other Cherokee Nation officials will memorialize this key moment in Cherokee history.

The first detachment of Cherokees was forcibly removed from their homelands in the southeast beginning in 1838. A remembrance event will be held at the Cherokee Heritage Center, where museum officials will display several artifacts from the Trail of Tears. Chief Baker will present a proclamation in recognition of this day.

Monday’s commemoration kicks off a series of events being planned by a committee established by Chief Baker. The committee consists of appointments from the Cherokee Nation’s three branches of government. It is chaired by Cherokee Nation Attorney General Todd Hembree and includes Cherokee Nation Tribal Council Attorney Dianne Barker Harrold and Cherokee Nation Supreme Court Justice Angela Jones.